Australian High Commission
Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoros, Reunion Island (consular)

COVID 19: Travel FAQs

 Read below for answers to some common questions about travel to Australia during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Australian border re-opening

Australian borders are open to fully vaccinated  Australian citizens, permanent residents and immediate family members.  Due to the emergence of the Omicron variant, most states require at least 72 hours self isolation on arrival (NSW, Victoria, ACT), and many still require 14 days quarantine (South Australia, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory).  Check state and territory websites for latest information.

14-day hotel quarantine on arrival (and inclusion in the weekly passenger arrival cap) is still required if:

  • you have not been vaccinated against COVID-19
  • you have been in certain countries in southern Africa within the last 14 days
  • you  have received a vaccine not recognised by the Australian government
  • you are a temporary visa holder with an exemption to enter Australia
  • you are arriving into a state or territory that has not yet re-opened (Tasmania, Queensland, WA, SA, NT)

Detailed information is available on the Australia's Government's international travel FAQs page and the website of the Department of Home Affairs.

Travelling between states in Australia

Travel between states is still restricted.  You may be able to arrive into some states from overseas without quarantine.  But onward travel to your final destination might not be permitted.

Quarantine arrangements for incoming travellers are determined by state and territory governments.   See below for the latest information.  

Temporary visa holders - travel to Australia

From 15 December 2021, fully vaccinated eligible visa holders across a number of a categories (including international students) can travel to Australia without a travel exemption.  See Coming to Australia  for more information.

COVID-19 vaccinations

The Australian Government has recognised the below vaccines for incoming travellers.  Other vaccines may be recognised in coming months. 

  • Comirnaty (Pfizer)
  • Vaxzevria (AstraZeneca)
  • Covisheld (AstraZeneca)
  • Spikevax (Moderna)
  • Janssen-Cilag (Johnson & Johnson)
  • Coronavac (Sinovac)
  • BBIBP-CorV (Sinopharm) - recognition is for travellers aged between 18 and 60.  Further information is here.
  • Covaxin (Bharat Biotech) - recognition is for travellers aged 12 and over.

Detailed information about passengers exempt from vaccination requirements (eg. children), and what constitutes "fully vaccinated" is on the following sites:

Recognised vaccines received overseas can be registered on the Australian Immunisation Register when you return home. More information here.

Travelling to Australia

Before you travel, check the Department of Home Affairs checklist to find out latest requirements for entry to Australia, including whether you can access reduced quarantine requirements.  You will also need to:

Find out more at Smartraveller: Re-entry and quarantine

Leaving Australia

From 1 November 2021,  fully vaccinated Australian citizens and permanent residents can leave Australia without needing an outwards travel exemption.  See Travel for Vaccinated Australians for more information.

Financial assistance

If you’ve been unable to return to Australia due to COVID-19 restrictions and are experiencing financial distress, you may be eligible to access financial support from the government . The support comes in the form of both loans and grants. It aims to help cover living costs and/or a flight back to Australia.